Comfortable

Comfortable adj.

2. being in a state of physical or mental comfort; contented and undisturbed; at ease:

4. more than adequate or sufficient:

Synonyms:

cozy, enjoyable, happy, healthy, pleasant, satisfied, relaxed, delightful, cheerful, content, relieved, rested, restored, snug as a bug in a rug, strengthened, well off

 

All of the above are great descriptions of how I’ve felt lately. For the first time in two years I know where I will be next year – both personally and professionally. For the first time in a year I make enough, and am guaranteed enough hours that I don’t worry about making ends meet. My apartment is furnished enough that I’m comfortable having guests over (not to mention the fact that my cooking skills are much improved!), and I have two adorable kitties – one of which I’ve really bonded with for the first time since loosing my baby, and the second of which is coming around slowly but surely.

I’m comfortable, and happy. The last year of my life has been some of the craziest, stressful times of my life but it also had the biggest payout. I’m not on the same path as most of my peers, and sometimes I feel like I don’t fit in anyway (too conservative for the the liberals, too liberal for the conservatives, too old-minded for the young people, too free and independent for the homeschool graduates), but when I come home at the end of the workday, and cook in my kitchen, and eat in my living room, and go to bed with my kitties cats purring, I’m utterly, completely content.

I feel like I finally have time to put back into creative outlets. I redecorated 80% of my living room in the past month and a half, as well as laid plans for my kitchen and bedroom, and I want to do more. I want to start blogging again, and taking photos again.

But the nice thing is that I know there is time for that. I can take my time and make my apartment look exactly how I want it to, because I know I’ll be here for quite a while yet. There is time to photograph, and write everything I want to because I won’t be running off somewhere else soon. I can take time and invest in myself, and I’m so excited to be in this new chapter of life. ❤

Leave a Reply

