Simply Taralynn’s August Fitness Challange

 

One of my New Years resolutions for 2016 is to get in better shape. So this month I’m completing Simply Taralynn’s August Fitness Challenge. My personal goals are:

Drink more water. I do drink a decent amount of water every day, but not as much as I should.

Eat less empty carbs and added sugar (read, chips, crackers and candy!) I love me some carb and sugar, but after watching Fed Up on Netflix, I realize how terrible for me it really is! I know that going empty carb and added sugar free isn’t sustainable for myself, but I want to limit my intake of those things. Instead, I’ll be eating more naturally occurring carbs and sugar like veggies and fruit.

Keep up with my half marathon training. I’m hoping to do a half marathon end of this year or beginning of next. I just started the ZenLabs half marathon training app, and I’m really enjoying it so far! It’s not too challenging (thank goodness I’ve kept up with my running and didn’t get too out of shape!) but I still feel good and tired when I’m finished!

PicMonkey Collage

Do yoga before bed each night. I’ve always heard that yoga is super good for our bodies, but I can just never get into it! Doing it before bed seems like a good start – hopefully it’ll also help me with my next goal…

 

Go to bed earlier. It’s not uncommon for me to go to bed at midnight or later on my phone or watching TV. I like Taralynn’s idea of going to bed before 11 and getting up at six. I think I’ll try to ease into that.

Turn off the TV, phone and laptop at least a half an hour before I fall asleep. I know that screens are terrible before bed and I want to try to break that habit. I’ve also been wanting to read more so this will be win/win!

On top of my goals, Taralynn also gives a list of activities to try and accomplish this month. I’m excited to try some new things, so I picked seven to do this month:

Hike three trails, walk five miles with a friend, take three fitness classes, bike, run/sign up for a race, rock climb, and rollerblade 

If you want to follow along on my fitness journey feel free to follow me on Instagram! @NerdGirlRunning

Leave a Reply

