Truly Learning the Art of Homemaking

 

Today I had the day off and my house is clean.

For the first time in a month, I might add.

See, keeping a house clean when that’s your full time job is easy. Doing it on top of being out of the home 8-10 hours a day, and grocery shopping, and working out, is another thing entirely.

Not that it’s impossible: I know plenty of hardworking women that make it work. My point is that it’s not easy and all the homemaking classes in the world can’t completely prepare you for it.

Growing up in the conservative, Christian, homeschooling community I’m no stranger to homemaking classes. I’ve seen many girls stay at home for years perfecting the art of homemaking. My own dear mum taught me and my sisters a lot about cooking and cleaning, and a little about sewing, crocheting and a number of other handicrafts.

Leaving my home I was armed with a wealth of knowledge.

But the recipes I was taught made too much food for little ol’ me, and my freezer is too small to store much.

img_5405

The table I saved with my hope chest was too big for my tiny flat.

And trying to keep my house in order and work to afford it takes a lot more time management skills than I anticipated.

And while I’m speaking from the experience of a single homemaker, a lot of the points still stand for a stay-at-home mom or anyone doing anything in additionΒ to being a homemaker.

While I often made dinner for my family while living at home I routinely find myself gooding things like “how to cut fennel” and “how to tell if an egg is bad” because I do things differently than my mum sometimes (I’ve even been able to teach her things sometimes!) And the elaborate meals I enjoyed experimenting with when I was at home now take too much time to use on a daily basis.

But doing it on my own is also so fulfilling. When I sit in my living room I know that I’ve built this life on my own hard work and ingenuity – and it feels great!

My point is that leaving home is hard and scary and it always will be. If you wait until you are “ready” you will never do it. Your parents can only teach you so much – at some point you just have to jump and learn how to fly on the way down.

4 thoughts on “Truly Learning the Art of Homemaking

  1. “Your parents can only teach you so much – at some point you just have to jump and learn how to fly on the way down.” So very true! I’ve been homemaking for decades and I’m still learning! I don’t think we ever quite arrive, don’t you think?

    Like

  2. Love your blog & instagram! So cuteπŸ˜‰
    I’ve been a WI homeschooling mom for 12 years now & hope my older 2 daughters are able to manage a home as well as you do! (Put my little 2 in school this year) It’s encouraging to see.
    Love your style tooπŸ’—Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, thank you so much! My parents really deserve all the credit, but I love being able to show other homeschoolers that it is possible to have a life after homeschooling. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

