One Year of Running

I said that once I completed my half I was gong to take the rest of February off from running. Well apparently God had other ideas… I mean, you can’t just give a runner sunny, 60 degree weather and expect them not to run! ๐Ÿ˜œ
I’ve kept it easier though. Mixing lots of walking in with running and I haven’t even gone five miles at a time. That totally counts as a break, right??


I was just thinking how crazy it is that I’ve been consistently running for over a year. I’ve never, ever stuck with anything health and fitness related for that long. It’s not even to loose weight anymore! I go for a run in vacation when I’m not counting calories, or when I’m just in an off season of nutrition because I genuinely enjoy running now. Me – the girl who made it her personal mission to do as little physical activity in PE class now goes for a four mile run for fun.


I have to give at least part of the credit to the Hogwarts Running Club. It’s this รผber cool non-profit/online community of runners who love Harry Potter. We sort ourselves into the four houses and compete for the house cup by getting active and raising money for charity.


After my family’s trip to Florida in November I was really afraid I was going to go back to my old ways because that trip was so much of my motivation. I happened to get really plugged into HRC at that time and it’s definitely made a difference. I find myself going for a walk or run even when I don’t feel like it because I gotta do my part for team Gryffindor!

So in summery: I’ve been a runner for a year now. A slow, nerdy runner who can’t naturally pace myself to save my life, but a runner nonetheless, and I’m pretty damn proud of myself. โค๏ธ

Leave a Reply

