Spring Goals

Today I’m participating in a weekly link-up with Running on Happy and Fairytales and Fitness. This weeks theme is spring workouts, but I’m posting about spring goals in general.

Last year I read a book called, You are a Badass, that subsequently changed my life.

This year, I started it over from the beginning, and I’m finding all new depths of life-changing motivation and wisdom in it. If you think I’m over hyping it stop what you’re doing and go read it for yourself (or listen to it via audiobook like I do.)

Add to this amazing book my equally amazing trip to SoCal, and I’m realizing some pretty big things about myself.

My first night in SoCal I was asleep-on-my-feet tired from being up at 5am, and gaining 2 hours onto my day, and I promptly passed out at 10pm. Then my alarm went off at 6am, and even though I turned it off, I only managed to get another hour of sleep. I got up at 7am and – in preparation for my big race – did a half an hour of yoga to make sure my muscles were nice and loose and happy. Then I had breakfast.

IMG_6854.JPG

It was the absolutely perfect start to a day, and I felt so good the rest of the day just thinking about how great my day had started. Why couldn’t every day be like this? But wait, why couldn’t it? I stay up till 12am or later on any given night, and then laze around in my bed until the absolute minute I have to get up to get ready for work. Just think about all that I could get done by just going to bed earlier and getting up earlier!

And thus the realization that I don’t take enough time out of my life to enjoy my life.

I try to do so many thing things and cram them into the measly 4ish hours a day that I am not at work, in bed, or sleeping, that I don’t actually ever get anything done!

That changes now.

From now on I am on a mission to get clear on what my goals are, figure out a way to achieve them, and make it happen.

So what are my goals?

I want to blog. I don’t really know what I want to do with but I know that I love it and it makes me happy.

I want to run. A lot. I love running. It makes me happy and it makes my day better when I start it outside moving my body.

I want to gain muscle. Running is amazing and my legs have never looked better and it’s even helped me develop baby abs but I want a four pack and I want strong, sexy arms. So that means I need to make time for cross training workouts.

I want to loose some weight. I’ve come a long way from where I used to be, but I still have about 20lbs I could use to shed. I’m not in a rush to loose them, but I would like to loose them before 2018 starts.

I want to move somewhere warm where I can look out my window and see palm trees in March instead of snowbanks.

IMG_6849.JPG

Now that I know what my goals are I have to figure out how to achieve them.

That part I haven’t completely figured out yet, but I don’t have to know all of it. I just have to start taking right steps and trust and pray that I’ll figure out the rest as I go along. So here are the right steps I can take right now:

Run 10 miles a week

complete 3 kickboxing workouts a week

go to sleep by 11 every night and get up by 8am every day (even days off!) so I’ll have time to cook, run, and blog

cook dinner at home 2-3 nights a week

post on here at least once a week

keep working towards a move somewhere warm and start putting aside money for a move as soon as I’m financially able to

I’m excited to keep moving forward in my life and see where I end up! And seriously, if you haven’t read You are a Badass yet, do it now!

takecareofyourself

“We’re all busy—it’s the people who make enjoying their lives a priority who, um, enjoy their lives.”

– Jen Sincero, author, life coach, self quoter, bad ass

 

2 thoughts on “Spring Goals

  1. I’ve read that book… it’s a great one! I used to do the same thing, hitting the snooze and getting up at the latest possible time only to rush and barely get out the door to be on time for work. This year I’ve made a conscious effort to stay away from the snooze button and multiple alarms and my mornings have been a lot better.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

